Check out market updates

Renovation and Custom Home Awards celebrate quality renovators

Renovation and Custom Home Awards celebrate quality renovators

The top renovators and custom homebuilders in the GTA were recognized in March at the Renovation and Custom Home Awards — sponsored by HOMES Publishing Group — and presented by the Building Industry and Land Development Association (BILD).

The awards are an annual event created by BILD in 1999 to recognize renovators for professionalism, quality of work and industry leadership. Nominees are evaluated by a team of industry professionals, with the Renovator of the Year award judged based on survey results from previous clients.

All renovations were performed by members of the national RenoMark program operating in the GTA.

The program helps homeowners identify and find professional renovators who have agreed to abide by a renovation-specific Code of Conduct. Contact information for all RenoMark renovators is accessible in a searchable online database at An updated RenoMark Directory also appears in each issue of RENO&DECOR, another magazine published by HOMES Publishing Group.

Eurodale Developments

The Renovator of the Year award was presented to Eurodale Developments for the third time since 2010. The award recognizes a renovator who sets the standard for the rest of the sector in their leadership and commitment to customer service, as well as contributing to the overall image of the renovation industry.

In addition to Renovator of the Year, the Renovation and Custom Home Awards recognizes a number of individual renovations separated by price range, as well as the top condominium and green renovations.

Monarch Kitchen and Bath Centre

The Best Renovation Under $75,000 was awarded to Monarch Kitchen and Bath Centre. The renovation involved integrating the kitchen into a home’s adjacent rooms to facilitate entertaining while maintaining its eat-in functionality.

Carick Home Improvements

Carick Home Improvements earned the award for Best Renovation $75,000 to $150,000 by customizing a home’s main floor to match a contemporary design and open-concept kitchen.

Michael Rosset of HOMES Publishing Group presents the award for Best Renovation $150,000 to $300,000 to Tipeq Inc.’s Sasha Lerkhbaum, Anatoliy Chorniy and Danny Tartakovsky.TIPEQ Inc.

The Best Renovation $150,000 to $300,000 award was presented to Tipeq Inc. for transforming an outdated, dysfunctional semi-detached house into a light-filled, energy-efficient and modern home.

Greening Homes

The award for Best Renovation $300,000 to $500,000 was won by Greening Homes Ltd. The company renovated the first floor and basement of a century-old Victorian semi-detached home by opening up the main floor and adding contemporary materials, all while maintaining period details.

Efforts to improve the home’s energy efficiency while paying special attention to waste reduction and use of recycled materials also earned Greening Homes the Best Green Renovation award.

The Best Renovation More Than $500,000 award went to Men At Work General Contractors Ltd. for turning a modest traditional home in Toronto into a spacious contemporary home designed for daily family life and entertaining.

Golden Bee Homes Inc.

Golden Bee Homes Inc. won the award for Best Condominium Renovation for renovating a 3,000-square-foot condo suite. The company moved walls to alter the size of the master bathroom, bedroom, kitchen and living space, installed custom floors and upgraded cabinetry.

Profile Custom Homes

Profile Custom Homes was presented with the Best Custom Home award for building a home that reflects the best qualities of modern design. A combination of openness, simplicity and an indoor-outdoor connection made the home both stylish and practical for a family of seven.

“This year’s winners demonstrate the importance of working with professional renovators and custom builders while raising the bar for the rest of the industry,” said Helen Batista, BILD vice president of membership and RenoMark program manager. “As the RenoMark program grows, so does the quality of the submissions we receive every year.”